Richmond Home

The Department of Biology offers students the opportunity to study the living world, from biomolecules to ecosystems. Knowledge of biology is critical for addressing current medical, environmental, and social issues in our rapidly changing world.

Biology Feature Stories

  • Quintero-Carmona Awarded

    Omar Quintero-Carmona, associate professor of biology received 2021 Prize for Excellence in Inclusivity from The American Society for Cell Biology. Read more.

  • Skromne Published

    Isaac Skromne, assistant professor of biology, and UR undergraduate students and alumni published an article on the development of bone-specific nanocarriers for drug delivery in the publication Drug Delivery.

  • Grayson Receives Department of Agriculture Grant

    Kristine L. Grayson, associate professor of biology, received a grant from the U.S. Department of Agriculture for continuing research on the Emerald Ash Borer, an invasive species of beetle.

  • Richardson Awarded Grant Jonathan Richardson, assistant professor of biology, received a grant for research on zoonotic disease risk in Richmond's rat population.
  • Maurakis Receives Grant

    Eugene Maurakis, an evolutionary biologist who specializes in environmental sciences, has received more than $200K in grant support from the National Science Foundation for research on freshwater fishes in Virginia. Read more.

  • Maurakis Receives Film Award

    Eugene Maurakis, a research scientist and adjunct professor, has been awarded “Best Short Film” in the RVA Environmental Film Festival for “Plastic Oceans,” which explores plastic pollution in oceanic environments through art. Read more.

Contact Us

Mailing address:
Biology Department, Gottwald Science Center B-100
138 UR Drive
University of Richmond, VA 23173

Phone: (804) 289-8871
Fax: (804) 289-8233

Department Chair: Krista Stenger
Administrative Coordinator: Emily Phaup
Administrative Coordinator, Pre-Health and Integrative Science: Emily Phaup

Biology Feature Story

Dr. Carrie Wu, Dr. Kristine Nolin, and three UR students have published "Convergence of glandular trichome morphology and chemistry in two montane monkeyflower (Mimulus, Phrymaceae) species” in the journal Flora.

Bustamante Eguiguren S, H Nguyen, A Caldwell, KA Nolin, and CA Wu. 2020. Convergence of glandular trichome morphology and chemistry in two montane monkeyflower (Mimulus, Phrymaceae) species. Flora 265: 151567.

2021 Student Award Winners

Congratulations to the following student award winners!

  • Willie M. Reams Award in Biology: Brianna Lebeck
  • Clarence Denoon Award: Jean Patrick Gonzales
  • Cole Memorial Scholarship: Rashel Amador
  • John Neasmith Dickinson Memorial Research Award: Andrew Cook; Jean Patrick Gonzales
  • Robert F. Smart Award in Biology: Rachel Pak; Josh Pandian; Anya Shehady; Kathryn Reda
  • Department of Biology Service Award: Savannah Del Cid
  • Department of Biology Teaching Assistant Award: Caterina Erdas
  • Department of Biology Research Award: Petra Hafker (Senior); Narmeen Rashid (Sophomore)
  • Department of Biology Achievement Award: Ryan Shah (Senior); Kristen Stark (Junior)